Okay, perhaps Granola Sunday isn’t a thing…but I seem to be in some sort of a homemade granola phase! I also am majorly procrastinating writing a paper, and what better way to do that than a nice LONG hot yoga class followed by some baking. Clearly, I’m a very productive procrastinator.

After  IMG_1763

My ginger coconut granola was so delicious (and sadly now eaten) that I wanted to try a different variation this week. I loved the kick of the ginger, but thought I’d go for something a bit more mellow. I settled on sliced almonds, chopped pecans and dried cranberries, along with vanilla and cinnamon. Like last time, I used maple syrup (only 1/4 cup, since I made a smaller batch), flax seeds, rolled oats and a splash of virgin coconut oil. It turned out great – both crunchy and chewy, lightly sweetened, and delicious with my morning greek yogurt. It’s a great source of fiber, whole grains, unsaturated fats, and calcium (from the almonds). Mixed into my yogurt, it helps to keep me full and sustain my energy levels throughout the morning (which I really need if I am ever going to write this paper…). Enjoy!

IMG_1762

Cranberry Nut Crunch Granola

Ingredients

2 cups rolled oats
1/8 cup flax seeds
1/3 cup sliced almonds
1/8 cup chopped pecans
1/4 cup chopped dried cranberries
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup maple syrup
1-2 tsp coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla
pinch salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven 325 degrees
2. Whisk together maple syrup, salt, vanilla and coconut oil in small bowl
3. Combine dry ingredients in large bowl
4. Pour wet into dry mixture and mix together so that it is evenly distributed
5. Spread mixture onto parchment lined cookie sheet (or use foil brushed lightly w/ oil)
6. Bake for 15 min, stir mixture, then bake for 2-3 10 minute intervals in between stirring until oats are crunchy (total cook time of ~45 minutes)
7. Remove from oven and let cool completely
8. Store in an airtight container

