It’s Sunday and growing up, that meant one thing in my house: a big stack of my Dad’s amazing pancakes! I usually make my healthier wholegrain Triple B pancakes, but today I decided to experiment with my new (well, inherited) waffle maker.

I’ve never made waffles before. I wanted a runner-friendly recipe given I have the NYC Half Marathon next weekend – something with whole grains, healthy fats and some protein – that would make a crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside waffle. The results were SO incredible I confess I may be a waffle girl now! Also, the recipe is super easy – a big plus in my book given how much work I have to do today.

Here’s a photo of what I came up with post-syrup pre-loading them up with fresh berries and a dollop of almond butter:

Whole wheat waffles

This was a really nice way to celebrate my return to running after taking a nasty spill on the subway stairs almost two weeks ago. Being the klutz that I am, I managed to fall right on my knee in the exact same spot I fell on last September when I fell off my bike. Pure talent! This was off course two days after I had finished my second 20 miler after a really strong long run sequence over the previous 3 weeks (20M – 18M – 20M) so it was a real bummer. Thankfully I didn’t break anything and only had to take a little over a week off. I ran 14M with some marathon pace miles at the end yesterday without any pain, which was awesome especially in the beautiful weather. I’ve definitely lost some fitness (and wasn’t exactly running as fast as usual before that) so I’m not expecting to break any records next weekend, but I am excited to race! I can’t believe it’s been 8 months since my last race and a full year since my last half marathon. But I digress from my waffles…

View/print my whole wheat banana ricotta waffle recipe or see below for details.

Enjoy!

Recipe: Whole Wheat Banana Ricotta Waffles

Ingredients

  • 2 large eggs

  • 1 ¾ cups nonfat or low fat milk (or almond milk, soy milk etc)

  • ¼ cup oil (I used olive oil since that was all I had around – tasted fine – canola oil is a good choice)

  • 1 tablespoon honey

  • 1 tsp vanilla

  • ½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda

  • 1 ½ cups 100% whole-wheat flour

  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

  • ⅛ teaspoon salt

  • 1 ripe, mashed banana

  • ~ ¾ cup ricotta, can do a little more or a little less (I love Calabro brand nonfat ricotta, which my local Whole Foods carries – very fluffy – do not recommend TJ’s nonfat version, their part-skim may taste better).

  • Maple syrup (I prefer to warm mine up before serving)

  • Toppings of choice: fresh fruit (berries, sliced banana, etc), nut butter, chopped walnuts or pecans (you can also put these into the batter), jam, etc

Directions

  • Preheat your waffle iron (mine makes 2 waffle squares, as pictured above).

  • In a large mixing bowl, whisk together eggs, mashed banana, milk, vanilla, ricotta, oil, honey, cinnamon, and baking soda until well combined.

  • Add in flour, baking powder, and salt and whisk together until the large lumps disappear.

  • When the waffle iron is hot, spray or brush with cooking oil and then ladle some batter onto the center of the iron (don’t fill completely as it will then overflow). Follow instructions of your waffle iron – mine took about 3-4 minutes to cook. They should be golden brown and crispy to the touch.

  • Eat as you go as we do or keep the waffles warm until you finish cooking all of them. Serve with pure maple syrup and other toppings of your choice.

Yield:

With my waffle iron, this recipe made about 6.5 servings (1 serving = 2 waffle squares pictured above), which should feed about 3-4 people depending on how hungry you all are (E and I could easily eat all of these ourselves, although we managed to save 4 squares for tomorrow). I have also cut this recipe in half, which makes a good amount for 2 ppl (about 4 squares per person). Keep leftovers in the fridge (each square fits nicely in the toaster) or freeze for another Sunday when you’re feeling extra lazy!

Nutrition info per serving (2 squares):

Without  toppings and using olive oil, nonfat milk, nonfat ricotta, and 1 medium banana, 1 serving is about 245 kcal, 10.5g fat (mostly unsaturated), 30g carbohydrate, 9.7g protein and 3.2g fiber.

