I just received FANTASTIC news – my acceptance into the 2013 Boston Marathon!!!!

I registered as soon as I got my iPhone back from my parents after finishing on Sunday in 3:33:18, but I wasn’t sure if I would actually get in and didn’t want to get my hopes too high after my failed entry back in 2011. I knew I had 2014 in the bag, but never would imagined that I would be running Boston this Spring!

I’ve been working towards this goal for over two years now. I qualified in NYC, the times changed, I registered and then didn’t make the cut. I had a string of injuries and after a pretty rough race in Portland last year, felt somewhat discouraged. Finally, in Chicago on Sunday, I PR’d by over six minutes, smashed my goal to BQ and finished feeling so strong I now have confidence that a sub-3:30 is in my future. This is pure redemption – and I can’t tell you how good it feels. Think that smile on my face says it all!

It’s tough to focus on school right now as I bask in my post-marathon glow and continue to process all of the amazing things that have happened in the last five days, but I’m trying my best. I have a very challenging three months ahead and now that Chicago is over, I can really focus on my studies and take a mental and physical break from many months of hard training. My one last hurrah will be a 90min recovery massage this afternoon – then time to buckle down.

Congratulations to everyone who raced this weekend! I will be taking a short blogging hiatus – but stay tuned for my Chicago race recap and other news!

