Photo by Eddie Jacob taken from Real Women Run by Sam Murphy, published by Kyle Books

While I lived in London, I was fortunate enough to discover UK-based running coach and author, Sam Murphy. We met for an initial consultation back in December 2009 and I knew immediately that she would be a great person to guide me through my first marathon in Paris. Chemistry is really important when choosing a coach, and my gut told me we would work very well together.

Her coaching style as well as her patience and support leading up to race day encouraged me to train with her for the NYC marathon too. I had an ambitious goal – to qualify for Boston – and I trusted her to help me achieve it. And I did!ย Experiencing the benefits of coaching was what motivated me to become a running coach myself this past October through RRCA’s certification program.

I admire Sam’s expertise and the wide variety of things she does in her career. I have also enjoyed watching her success grow since we met. She coaches, leads workshops and a running group, writes regularly in publications such as Runner’s World, The Financial Times and many more, has written seven books and is breaking into the barefoot running scene (she coached me on barefoot technique this past November, and I bought a pair of Vivo’s from her and her husband’s latest venture, a minimalist shoe company). She certainly was successful when I met her, but she seems particularly busy these days!

Although I have chosen the field of Nutrition as my primary path, I plan to develop my own coaching career over time. I feel it’s important to have role models as I gain experience and try to figure out what I want to achieve. It’s great that I can look to Sam for inspiration, and hopefully I will meet other coaches I admire in NYC too!

Anyway, I’ll get to the point of this post. Last summer, Sam asked me to contribute to her next book, called “Real Women Run,” which will be published in late March 2012. I was very honored and obviously said yes! I enjoyed writing my short “running story” (which I will share on this blog once the book is published) and modeling at the subsequent photo shoot in Southeast London.

We needed to take two photos to accompany my “story” – one standing still (pictured above) and one action shot (pictured below)- but I ended up staying a bit longer to model for other chapters of the book (hill running, for example). It was exhausting, since I basically did a mini hill repeat session on top of my morning interval workout, but I had a great time!

I’m excited to finally post some of these photos on FFR! I believe these four will appear in the final version of the book. I saw part of the draft a couple months ago, and it looked great. I can’t wait to receive my copy!

A big thank you to Vicky Orchard for emailing these to me, Eddie Jacob for his photography skills and of course to Sam for inviting me to be a part of her upcoming book!

Stay tuned for more info on where to get the book if you’re interested, as well as the text from my contribution.ย In the meantime, enjoy!

Photo by Eddie Jacob taken from Real Women Run by Sam Murphy, published by Kyle Books

Photo by Eddie Jacob taken from Real Women Run by Sam Murphy, published by Kyle Books

Photo by Eddie Jacob taken from Real Women Run by Sam Murphy, published by Kyle Books

