I never look great in official race photographs, but the batch I just saw from the Portland Marathon was probably the worst I’ve seen yet! I guess I’m usually too focused on my pace to notice the cameras – hence why I often look so serious. Anyway, I thought I’d share a few of the “better” ones for your viewing pleasure…

Here I am at the start (I’ve marked myself with arrows):

Looking good, just another color in the crowd!

Skip to mile 17.4:

Yeah. I do this for FUN. Can’t you tell? This shot was taken after a long and nasty hill…the sad thing is that the other photos taken of me at the bridge were much worse than this!

Moving on to mile 24.2 – headless racer! Based on the other shots at this photo spot, I don’t really want to know what’s behind that big R…

And mile 25.9 – nearly done and just trying to hang in there…

My sprint finish (or at least what felt like one):

Crossing the finish line:

And last but certainly not least, check out my victorious finish line photos:

 

To be fair, I did attempt to smile and throw my hands in the air for the cameras, but the photographer instead caught the moment my hands fell back down and I was trying not to be sick…They certainly do capture how I was feeling, that’s for sure! 🙂

At least I pulled myself together a few seconds later for my post-finish line photo:

I was relieved to have finished and was trying my best to smile, but was so exhausted that even that proved difficult. It was a great race though and the smiles were flowing freely shortly thereafter.

At least racing isn’t about how good you look, but rather, how fast you run!

