Wow, this weekend certainly is a good one to take a couple days off from marathon training! Not that I don’t fully support running rain (snow) or shine, but I obviously prefer to run without fearing that my contacts will wash away…

It started to POUR as soon as I ventured outside to run some errands and go to the gym. I made it as far as my local farmer’s market – I think many of the vendors know me by name at this point, given how frequently I’ve been there recently! After buying some really beautiful produce, I decided maybe a nice long bath, a bit of yoga and then enjoying my market goodies would be a better option. I know, I’m getting a bit too used to my rest days this week…but somehow the idea of the gym seemed very unappealing!

This, however – highly appealing!!

I bought a huge basket of local cherries, since I had seen a delicious sounding recipe for cherry cobbler with almond-buttermilk topping and wanted to try it out. I’ve really been on a roll this week with all my cooking and baking – I’d post photos but unfortunately most of the things I have made (roasted red pepper sauce, fennel marmalade, pureed chickpea soup etc.) were eaten up before I had the chance!

And actually, I think my cherries will be eaten up before I have a chance to make anything with them. They’re so amazing just as they are, straight from the bowl – I can’t stop eating them! Looks like I may have to pay another visit to the market…

I’ve really been enjoying all my kitchen time – it’s been a fun (and productive) distraction from my hip soreness. I’m usually running or doing some other type of physical activity six days a week, so it feels really strange to be taking so many days off lately. Strange in a good way, because I know it’s what my body needs to recover and come back stronger, but also in a slightly guilty way, because I can’t help but feel like I’m supposed to be doing something active!

However, as much as I LOVE being outdoors and working up a sweat, it’s a nice change of pace to be indoors on this rainy day, relaxing and taking a step back to appreciate my life. I’ve been both excited and stressed out lately and it’s important to take a deep breath and remind myself, “life is just a bowl of cherries.”

Sorry, couldn’t help myself! But seriously, do you know where that saying actually comes from? I didn’t. It’s from a song that came out in 1931 – I particularly like the last verse of the lyrics:

Life is just a bowl of cherries
So live and laugh, aha!
Laugh and love
Live and laugh,
Laugh and love,
Live and laugh at it all!

It’s true. Life’s too short to worry as I sometimes do. I have chosen to make some big life changes in the very near future and as scary as it is, it’s also wonderful. I’m embracing all of it, and will hopefully remember to keep living, laughing and loving through it all!

Have a wonderful weekend!

