After two fun but incredibly busy, active weekends away, and enough going on during the week to make me feel like a hamster on a wheel, it’s probably no surprise that I’ve been quite tired and a bit run-down recently. I’m so grateful it’s Friday – I’m really starting to feel the effects of not enough sleep and a few too many missed workouts, which usually leads me to throw any attempts at maintaining a healthy diet out the window and puts me in a foul mood due to increased stress levels. Running is how I maintain my sanity, and without sufficient rest, it’s hard to stay on track.

Although this week has been relatively uneventful compared to my last post, particularly on the running front, I do have a couple things to share. First, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted something I have cooked, and my dinner on Wednesday was restorative as well as enjoyable to assemble and eat. I had by that point practically consumed my weight in chocolate, so all I wanted was something healthy and delicious, that didn’t require too much time or effort.

After all my running around, I was craving a bit of simplicity.

So I made this:

Grilled asparagus, button mushrooms and sweet potato wedges (simply spiced – salt, pepper, olive oil, as well as a bit of rosemary on the wedges), with two poached eggs on top. Simply delicious. I did have more chocolate, but at least I had a bowl of cinnamon-dusted orange slices first:

It was fun to get back into the kitchen, even if only for a few minutes, and I always find that food tastes better and is more fun to eat when I’ve made it look pretty on my plate.

At the other extreme (and completely unrelated), I had a work event on Thursday night at the top of the Gherkin. I had organized an event there two years ago, but two floors below the top, so I was excited to finally visit the 39th and 40th floors of this iconic London building. My job was to greet clients, as well as take photos. I had a lot of fun with the latter, particularly before the guests arrived! The views were spectacular, and I also got to enjoy many of the delicious canapes and drinks on offer. Here are a few photos from the evening:

I was situated right near the kitchen, so I had easy access to the food as it came out, and the manager was kind enough to make me a plate to sample everything. Had a *few* too many of these oreo cheesecake brownie bites…soooo good.

I woke up with a bit of a hangover from the pink bubbles, but it was a pretty fun night, for work at least! 🙂

Thankfully, I’m in London this weekend and am very much looking forward to letting my body recuperate and recalibrate, so that I can finally get back to my normal, more energetic and healthy self. This is crucial, because one week from today, I am heading off for my next long weekend adventure – Amalfi Coast, Italy!

