Recently, I’ve become somewhat obsessed with the TV show Modern Family. A friend mentioned that it was funny, and so out of curiosity (/procrastination), I watched the pilot. And episode 2. And then 3. I couldn’t stop! I’m well into the second season now, and must say, it really is one of the best shows I’ve seen in awhile – great writing! Plus, that feeling of instant gratification that you get when you finish one episode, want to watch the next one right away and then do it is pretty addictive…

I told E about Modern Family and now he’s hooked too. He teases me about the supposed similarities between me and the character named Claire on the show, who is a *slight* control freak and perfectionist. She’s also married to this goofy, nerdy guy named Phil…whose butt she could easily kick in a race. Hm, yes I think I do see some similarities! 🙂

So in light of tomorrow’s trail race, which I will be running with E and some friends, I wanted to post part of the Modern Family episode “Run for your wife,” where Phil foolishly challenges Claire to a 2-mile race around their neighborhood because Claire asserts that she is a faster runner than he is (she is, but decides to let him win). I couldn’t find the exact clips I wanted, but here’s a link to the full episode via Megavideo – just click the red/green play buttons and it should work (you might have to get rid of a pop-up). If you don’t want to watch the whole thing, the running related stuff happens at around 7:25 – 9:30 and then the actual race is around 16:50 – 19:30. But if you have 20 minutes to spare, the episode is quite cute and entertaining, in my opinion at least!

As for tomorrow…the race is ON! Although for once, maybe I’ll let him win too…

