Why hello there! Remember me?

I know, I’ve been slacking on the blogging front lately…turns out that getting back into an exercise routine hasn’t been my only post-holiday challenge! So here’s my first attempt to turn that around and get myself back into a semi-regular pattern of writing…

On the nutrition course front, after much procrastinating, I finally completed my assignments for week one! As I suspected, the material so far is interesting but pretty basic – it’s been good though to refresh my memory. For example, I’m slightly embarrassed to admit that I forgot that DNA stands for deoxyribonucleic acid…or that the small intestine is made up of the duodenum, jejunum and ileum…but hopefully I’m not the only one who has forgotten these types of things from high school biology?!

Fitness-wise, I’ve gradually been increasing my mileage and, although still not nearly as fit as I was pre-Vietnam, I am making progress. I even did a 12 mile run (albeit very slowly) last Sunday! The real challenge will be getting my strength and speed back – I attempted my first tempo session in over a month this past week, and even just 2 x 6min threshold pace (7:24min/mile) was TOUGH. I’m also planning to do a basic hill session this Saturday, which will be an even greater challenge given that I haven’t done hills in several months. But hey, you gotta start somewhere. Especially because in just two weeks I’ll be running the 17km Kentmere Challenge (essentially, up and down a mountain) in the Lake District with some friends. I predict some (gasp!) walking…but I suppose that’s why we chose to do the “challenge,” which is for “less competitive runners,” versus the “trail race” for “more serious runners.” Funny, never thought I’d fall into the “less competitive” category! 🙂

Hopefully, however, it won’t be for very long. In an attempt to get my competitive spirit flowing again (and also because all three pairs of my road shoes have hit 500 miles), I ordered my favorite shoes (Saucony ProGrid Omni 9) in pink and black! They’re in the mail now and I can’t wait to get them. I know, I’m a total running nerd, but after so many pairs of BORING blue and white shoes, I couldn’t help but get excited when I found these on the US Saucony website (still only blue and white in the UK)! The US store also carries them in bright green, which I may get on my next visit home, as I prefer to alternate pairs to make them last a bit longer.

Look how pretty they are:

I don’t know about you, but having comfortable, tried and tested gear that also looks great makes such a huge difference in my motivation and performance. I take any mental boost I can get!

Lastly, I know I’ve been promising Vietnam photos and stories. I have finally finished reviewing and editing hundreds of photos, so I do hope to get them up here at some stage!

