I’ve always had an interest in nutrition and dietetics, especially in recent years as I’ve become a more dedicated runner and keen chef. Okay, maybe chef is stretching it – but I certainly love to cook now a lot more than I did a few years ago, and I’m pretty sure my skills have improved too!

For the past several months, I’ve considered taking a short nutrition course to explore the subject further without having to commit too much time or money. A friend suggested I check out Open University, a popular distance learning organization in the UK. Sure enough, I came across an introductory course called “Understanding Human Nutrition” beginning May 14th and lasting around 10 weeks. The timing was perfect and the cost was reasonable, so I figured, why not give it a try?

I’ve never studied online before, and the last time I hit the books for an actual course was nearly five years ago when I learned Portuguese in Brazil and Spanish in Ecuador, so I’m curious to see how this will unfold. I’m generally quite self-disciplined and the flexibility of distance learning suits my work and travel schedule, so hopefully I will enjoy myself and won’t have too much trouble finding the time to study.

The course apparently requires eight hours per week, but I don’t anticipate that the material will be overly challenging. I believe we will be covering some basic science (mainly chemistry and biology) that I learned in high school and can hopefully dig out of the depths of my memory, plus I already have a good grasp of basic nutrition principles, so that should give me a head start and perhaps cut down the study time.

I don’t expect to be blown away, but I do hope that this course will refresh my memory, leave me with a broader, more in-depth understanding of human nutrition and, most importantly, whet my appetite to learn more!

