Hello from Hue! I’m about to head back to the craziness of Hanoi for a brief stopover, after an intense 10 days of exploring North/Central Vietnam (Hanoi, Sapa region, Hoi An and Hue) and before my tour of Ha Long Bay, my final destination for this trip. It took me a couple days to get into the swing of things, but overall I’ve been having an amazing experience.

Although I haven’t done much running aside from my one attempt in Hoi An (the heat, pollution, and crazy traffic make it a bit difficult, especially in the cities), I’ve managed to keep quite active, mostly from hiking and walking. Good thing too, because the focus of this trip has without a doubt been FOOD!

I cannot begin to tell you how much I’ve fallen in love with Vietnamese cuisine – so many colors and flavors, so fresh and more healthy than I imagined too, which is always a plus. I feared that I would have trouble enjoying a large part of it given my shellfish allergy, but thankfully I’ve been fine so far (touch wood)! My stomach has also cooperated with my daily street food meals and snacks, so either my stomach has grown stronger from all my travels or I’ve been lucky. 🙂

Here I am today, cooling off with an iced cà phê in one of the stalls in Hue’s main market. The coffee here is STRONG, mixed with condensed milk and ice. At first it was a bit of a shock to the system but now I am obsessed with it – particularly refreshing after having walked in scorching heat and 100% humidity for four hours.

I have a very early flight tomorrow so that’s all for now – many more photos and details of my adventures to come!

