As many of you know, this is a big weekend for tens of thousands of runners across the world, who are gearing up to run the London and Boston marathons. I’ve been feeling a bit marathon nostalgic these past few days, as I’ve watched the barriers go up along the course and the runners descend upon the city. The best moment was of course when I was walking home from work on Friday and a pack of Kenyans flew past me on Tower Bridge – awesome!

As much as I’ve been enjoying my time off structured training, I kinda wish I were running tomorrow. I love destination races, and Paris and New York were both amazing, but I live in London so it’s pretty ridiculous that I haven’t yet run it! It would be really nice to wake up in my own bed, eat breakfast in my own kitchen and run a high profile marathon that literally goes through my neighborhood and includes some of my regular running routes…Yeah, I’m definitely entering the London 2012 lottery – well, unless I get into Boston, of course. 🙂

I really felt the marathon excitement building throughout this morning’s 14.5 mile run along the latter part of the course. Although I wasn’t feeling as fresh (or fast) as last weekend, it was a great run, save for the moment I nearly got trapped as I looped back towards the river! Marathon officials were already blocking off roads and, even though it was still relatively early, they had made tremendous progress in setting up all the high fences near St. James Park. Thankfully, I was able to sneak through just in time!

Anyway, I just wanted to say GOOD LUCK to all the marathoners! Have faith in all the hard work you have put in over the past several months, and enjoy your big day! Londoners, I’ll be out there bright and early to cheer you on near Tower Hill, around miles 13 and 22, just as I did last year:

Boston marathoners, I’ll be cheering you on in spirit on Monday – and if I’m lucky, running with you in 2012!

