There are many reasons why I run, and this water bottle (which I discovered at Cafe Press, among many others) certainly covers one of them:

A bit pricey for a .6L bottle, but I might have to get it. Or the one that says, “Don’t talk to me until I’ve had my morning run.” So true…

Thankfully, after many days of rest this week to prepare for the Fleet half tomorrow, I was able to squeeze in an easy 20 minutes along the river. It was a gorgeous day out – so perfectly sunny and crisp that when my time was up it was pretty tough to stop! I’m hoping that’s a sign that I’ll be hungering to run tomorrow, even if the idea of running 13.1 miles doesn’t exactly excite me at the moment.

I’ll tell you what I was hungering for this afternoon though – my banana walnut muffins! After a healthy dose of sunshine and a delicious lunch of grilled seabass, sauteed spinach and sweet potato carrot ginger mash (all from my local farmer’s market in Bermondsey Square), I saw some overly ripe bananas in the kitchen and couldn’t help myself. They’re packed with complex carbohydrates, so I figured they would fit perfectly into my pre-race nutrition plan! Nevermind the fact that I had four of them… πŸ™‚

By the time I finished baking and eating muffins, it was practically dinner time! And what was on the menu? My favorite – chestnut pappardelle with sauteed shitake mushrooms, sun blushed tomatoes, white truffle oil and grated parmesan.

And now, I’m sitting here with a cup of fresh mint tea, feeling unusually relaxed the night before a big race (or am I just in a food coma??). I even forgot to make myself a pace band until just now, which is quite telling given how obsessive I normally am about these things. I don’t have a printer handy, so will have to write one out. I think I’ll go with 1:39 – still slightly ambitious, given how sluggish I’m feeling these days, but not necessarily unattainable!

I guess we’ll find out soon enough…

