I ADORE Martha Rose Shulman’s Recipes for Health Series in the New York Times. Her recipes are delicious, healthy and creative, and although I sometimes don’t follow them exactly (as with my Triple B Pancakes), they always serve as great inspiration!

Tonight, I made Martha’s Vegetable Hash with Poached Egg, which appeared in today’s paper. It was SO delicious I couldn’t help but write about it! I was practically licking my plate, excited by all the flavors. It’s hard to go wrong when poached eggs are involved, in my opinion, but this combo was particularly yummy.

The only thing I changed this time was to add some chili powder to give it a nice kick, as well as half a zucchini (because I had some in the fridge, and the whole point is to use a “medley of leftovers”). I also made two poached eggs rather than one to increase the protein content and improve the veg to egg ratio. Lastly, as you can see from my photos, I accidentally forgot to finely chop my veggies (it was a long week – and I’m bad at reading directions to begin with), but it still tasted great, just didn’t stick together too well.

Here is my amended and printer friendly version of Vegetable Hash with Poached Eggs, or see above for the original recipe. This was a satisfying, easy meal for a chilled out Friday night, packed with healthy carbs and protein that will help me through my tempo run tomorrow morning. I’m definitely making this again very soon!

Vegetable Hash with Poached Eggs – Take Two

Okay, when I said very soon I didn’t think I meant the next day, but I really wanted to try this again with a few amendments, so I made the hash for lunch today and I liked this version much better. This time, I added a chunk of fresh ginger (which has been shown to aid in digestion and to have anti-inflammatory properties) and butternut squash (to add even more healthy carbs) to the same vegetable mixture, and grated all the veg which really improved the texture. I also added a small red chili pepper instead of chili powder. The combo of chili and ginger really makes this dish exciting to eat! Next time I might try replacing butternut squash with sweet potato and/or beetroot – bet they’d work nicely in the grated version – and perhaps do an avocado salsa to put on top. Man, I love this recipe.

Check out my photos from both versions below:


