I can hardly remember the last time I took a REAL vacation – as in, when I went somewhere to completely unplug and relax for a decent period of time. 2010 was such a great but extremely busy and active year that my body is craving a week (or more) of R&R in ways I can’t describe. I don’t think I could actually perform well in my upcoming races without a break, to be honest. I’m looking at those rest days in my training schedule with such relief! Good thing I will soon be on a plane way down south to enjoy extremely warm and lovely weather, at a peaceful beach location!

I somehow got myself to do a hill session early this morning – slacked off slightly, but at least I got it done. Sometimes you need to compromise with yourself when you’re really just not in the mood – and so I promised myself that I would do all ten reps of my 1min hill repeats if I decreased the speed slightly and gave myself full 2min recoveries. Still didn’t enjoy it, but now it’s over and I feel like my vacation has officially begun. Well, I’m still frantically packing, but that’s all part of the fun I suppose!

Anyway, wishing you all a lovely week and will be sure to share photos and stories of my trip upon my return!

