Isn’t it wonderful when you start doing a new activity or something more regularly, and you finally reach that stage when it it all starts to feel just a little more natural and enjoyable?

As I wrote about previously, I have been attending a 45-minute yoga class every Thursday at 7:30am since mid-December. This morning I was so exhausted that I nearly didn’t get out of bed, but now I’m glad I did, because today (my fifth class) I noticed that I have really improved. Granted, I’m not a yoga master just yet and I’m doing a relatively easy class (so I’ve been told), but poses felt easier to hold, stretches were deeper, breathing more focused, mind quieter. Everything felt more familiar, and as a result, my body flowed more smoothly from one pose into the next.

My instructor advised the class at the end that it is best to do yoga at least twice a week to truly experience the benefits. I asked him if going only once was still worthwhile  – I knew the answer was yes but was curious why he said two classes rather than one. He said of course, and confirmed that I certainly have made progress already by going once a week (which was very encouraging) but that I should try a longer, more dynamic class if I can find the time!

I certainly plan to do so, because I really am starting to enjoy yoga more than I used to, when I only went once every few months at best. I do see myself growing bored at some point with this particular class – but when that happens, I’ll just find a more challenging class to attend! It’s no different than running, really – if you improve, then you start running faster, further, on a different terrain, or whatever else calls out to you!

I know this is obvious, but given its relevance to so many activities, including running, it’s worth pointing out the following:

If you’re trying something new, promise yourself that you’ll stick with it long enough to at least see a glimmer of progress, as I did this morning. In most cases, those first weeks will not be easy and as a result, perhaps slightly discouraging or unpleasant as you look up at what seems to be a mountain in front of you. Perhaps you are even looking up at an actual mountain, depending on what you’re doing! Regardless, if you persist, you will ultimately improve, and even in small doses, you will find this incredibly rewarding.

